Isle of Wight Book Awards

Isle of Wight Book Awards 2022

As one of the main sponsors, Medina Bookshop is delighted to announce the twenty-one books longlisted for the Isle of Wight Book Awards 2022 as judged by Alan Titchmarsh, Joanna Trollope and Hunter Davies. 

The awards aim to encourage the writing, reading, and publishing of books about the Isle of Wight; to draw attention to the beauty and glories and heritage of the Isle of Wight; to reward and praise authors, many of whom will perhaps never have produced a book before.

The three categories open were Fiction, Non-Fiction and Children’s. And of the 71 entries, the longlist is an eclectic mix of novels, non-fiction, memoirs, poetry, guidebooks, and picture books, all published in the last five years. 

To see all the books chosen, see the alphabetical list below:

The Curious Death Of William Bacchus by Lawrence Harvey

Fools Gold by Alan Barbara

Furthest South by Robin McInnes

The Glass House by Jody Cooksley

The Golden Stone by Jules Marriner

Grass Green Stockings by Marion Carmichael

Hexed by Julia Tuffs

A History Of Women’s Lives On The Isle Of Wight by Daisy Plant

The Infamous Sophie Dawes by Adrian Searle

Inside Parkhurst by David Berridge

An Island Legacy by Kenneth Hicks

Isle And Empires by Stephan Roman

Isle Of Memories by Jo Cooper

Just An Isle Of Wight Seaside Landlady by Sandra Ferguson

Light And Love by Kirsty Stonell Walker

Measuring the Moments by Gus Jonsson

My Friends By The Beach by Meg L Hewison

Nammet edited by Caroline Gurney-Champion

Nature Calls by Jules Marriner

Out on an Island edited by Franko Figueiredo-Stow and Caroline Diamond

Shanklin Esplanade Through Time by Shanklin & District History Society

The judges will announce the final winner at the Grand Literary Lunch held on Monday 12th September at the Island Sailing Club in Cowes from 12.30 p.m. Good luck to all the authors!